Why do we get Under Eye Circles?

Hello, Ladies! Welcome back and Seasons Greetings! Yes, I’m early on the holiday wishes but I love the holiday season so much that I get into the Christmas spirit the day after Halloween. I’m currently waiting to put my Christmas tree up even though winter doesn’t technically start until December 21st! Are any of you ladies holiday-obsessed like me?

 

Picture of couple sitting together in front of the fireplace sipping hot chocolate.

This is what my night looks like when I get home tonight ❤

 

So, do any of you wake up with dark under eye circles that last throughout the day, and have started lasting for longer periods of time as you have gotten older? Are you ladies like me and have to make sure that you put in an extra step of not even concealing blemishes but concealing the eyelids and under eye circles/bags? I have been wondering whats the deal with them for a while now and so when my Aunt and I were recently talking and she asked me if I knew how to get rid of them I decided to do some more in-depth research and figure out for not only her but myself to what exact deal with eye bags was.

Dark eyelids and under eye circles are the visible discoloration around the eyes. It can be directly on the eyelids, it will also be underneath your eyes and it will go up into the corner area where your nose meets your eye sometimes. For me personally, I also get some discoloration on the outer corners of my eyes too because the discoloration can also stretch out to the opposite end of your eye. They are usually characterized as puffy eyes, eye bags, looking either blue/green or brownish most of the time. Some people like to call them sleepy eyes.

Many people think that there are a few simple reasons as to why you get bags and while those are true like lack of sleep, vitamin deficiency or allergies sometimes there are many different reasons as to why you are seeing this discoloration in such a sensitive area. Depending on the color of your discoloration it can tell you certain things about why you are seeing these eye bags.


 

20161119_035847_hdr

My circles are mainly due to hyperpigmentation problems and bone structure. Very rarely do I see blue/green pigmentation showing.

 


Blue Circles: When you’re seeing blue circles underneath your eyes than some things that it can tell you is first off that your skin underneath your eyes is very thin. Sometimes blood pools behind the skin here and can show through because it’s just soooo thin. It generally shows through most in the morning. I think that’s because a lot of people tend to rub their eyes in the morning when they first wake up which can worsen your dark circles due to irritation. When we have been on our feet all day, very busy and an awake or “horizontal” for long periods of time fluids start building up behind the skin and your veins expand to hold more blood which increases the puffy size of them. As I mentioned sometimes the skin in this area is so thin that it shows the color through it drastically. As we get older losing the subcutaneous fatty tissue in this area becomes inevitable. This “Subcutaneous fat” is what makes the blue and green pigments from beneath your skin generally invisible. There Are Many things you can do to help prevent this from happening and to clear this up as much as possible if it has already started showing badly.

Brown Circles: When your eyes have dark circles with a tinge leaning towards brown this usually means you are suffering from some sort of hyperpigmentation problem which would probably look similar to my picture depending on your bone structure. This tends to occur from chronic sun exposure, rubbing your eyes a lot, or simply aging and genetics. There are many at-home remedies that you can do to reverse this.

Many of the other common reasons people have dark circles of either color around their eyes could be due to Allergies, Eczema Sleeping face downward, all of which can cause the need to rub your eyes more. Sometimes like I mentioned genetics, this can be a hereditary condition passed down. Smoking, doing drugs, and drinking alcohol can also cause dark circles and bags. Smoking cigarettes and drinking alcohol weaken your skin. Fatigue can be a big reason why your bags stick around the way they do. Not getting enough proper sleep on a consistent basis can be a big part of the reason. Make-up can be irritating your eyes or you could be developing a new allergy to your makeup, Some people just have more sensitive eyes and these reasons alone can cause itching swelling and inflammation in this area. Some of you might not be experiencing ANY of these problems at all. So why do you still have dark circles? Well, one of the other common reasons is simply the bone structure of your face. People that have deeper tear troughs underneath their eyes will have some eye shadowing from the indentation but, this is NOT from vein issues, pigmentation problems, sleep deprivation, or and mineral and vitamin deficiencies. This is simply because of the way that your bone structure is beneath your skin.

There are many things you can do to reduce the look of your eye bags most of them being natural and at home remedies like cucumber slices or tea bags. I have come to the realization that when it comes to me posting I don’t post nearly as much as I would like to because my posts always tend to be really long, in fact, longer than I even want them to be or have planned out. It’s like I procrastinate with my posts so that I can keep planning them until it is perfect but, it tends to get out of hand and not what I generally envisioned. This is really starting to bug me as I feel that I am not as accomplished as I’d like to be. I am not meeting my weekly goals at all because I spend weeks and weeks planning and working on just one big thorough post when I think I would be better off doing shorter posts and linking a bunch of them together rather than one giant post! That is what I will be doing for this post. So, Soon I will have linked another two or three articles in relation to this post. One will be about different at home remedies and techniques you can do to decrease the appearance of eye bags and another will be about certain foods you can add to your diet that can help reduce your eye bags! I hope nobody minds that I’m changing up a bunch of things. I am trying to figure out what works best for me and my family as well as what allows me to produce my best work.

Thank you for everyone that checked in with this post and I will try and find some way to update you on when the next ones will be coming out! I will try and send a tweet out before I post it so make sure you head over and check out my Twitter. Let me know what you think of the changes you have been seeing and if you have anything you would like to see from me soon then let me know and I will see what I can do! Don’t forget to check out my Instagram too! I’ll see you all in a bit!

 

4 thoughts on “Why do we get Under Eye Circles?

What did you think?

