Easy Peasy, Eggcellent, Egg Salad!

HubbySandwichHello, everyone, How was everybody’s week? I’m so sorry I’m writing late again because it’s been a rough, tiring and crazy week for my family and I. This week we had a lot of errands to run and I had to get some stuff for college and my student loans figured out which ended up going really well (Yay Me) I also attempted to go to my doctors appointment which I was really looking forward to because I have a cavity that is getting kinda sensitive. Anywho, I didn’t even end up seeing the dentist and in fact, have to find a new dentist altogether due to a dirty pedophile they have as a patient. I was actually really bothered by the entire situation, my boyfriend was too. I will be posting about it shortly. Back to today’s post, though!!!

I wanted to change it up today and give everyone a recipe! This week I realized we ate a lot of egg salad sandwiches. So I made it a point to take a few pictures during the process of it all. Growing up when egg salad was made for me it was always sort of bland there was nothing special really added to it. When I moved out and started cooking for both my boyfriend and myself I became a little more experimental. Once of my Man’s favorite vegetables is celery so one day he suggested that I put some chopped celery in. I also added some extra seasoning directly in.

  • Things you will need:HardBoiled Eggs
  • Eggs
  • Large Pot
  • Water
  • Vinegar
  • Metal Bowl
  • Ice Cubes
  • Tupperware ContainerCelery
  • Celery
  • Salt
  • Pepper
  • Knife
  • Potato Masher
  • Mayonnaise

 

The first thing you’re going to do is boil your eggs. I did 6 hard boiled eggs and it made about 8 sandwiches but, you can make however many eggs you think you will be eating. Egg salad lasts in your fridge for about 5days before it starts getting milky inside which, also makes this a good β€œMeal Prep” idea for your week! To Boil my eggs I like to put them in a Stockpot with at least an inch of water covering and a teaspoon of vinegar. I find that sometimes if you boil your eggs for a few minutes too long then they will crack sometimes. Adding vinegar is said to help keep the egg whites from seeping out when that does happen. Boil them for about 15 minutes, to check if they are ready to try spinning them on a flat surface. If they wobble back and forth they are still undercooked, If they are spinning smoothly than they are good to go! Once they are cooked they will need to cool down before you do anything with them. I’m not 100% sure why so if anybody does know the reason feel free to comment and let me know! I usually put all the boiled eggs in an ice bath in a metal bowl. And then leave it in the fridge for 15-30 min.


After their chilled, I get some paper towel and crack them. I put them directly back in the ice bath unpeeled, to chill further while I crack the rest of them. While they chill I get the rest of my things ready. I pull out the celery, and mayonnaise, salt & Pepper, and all the utensils I’ll be needing. I put them in the bowl and mash them one by one. After they are all mashed I add in a spoonful of mayo, mix it around until it has a chunky/creamy texture. I add the chopped celery, some salt, and pepper, about a half a spoon more. I mix it all together and Voila! Egg Salad with a Twist!

For my boyfriend’s sandwiches, I get two slices of bread and put a spoon and a half of egg salad. Then I put my special surprise on His sandwiches just for him. I cut up some cucumbers sometimes or I’ll usually put some salt&vinegar chips on the side. For my sandwich, I’m really weird! Sometimes ill have it regularly like I make my boyfriends but most times I toast my bread, put a little bit of butter on one slice, egg salad on the other. The weirdest thing I do Is I like to put mustard on my egg salad sandwiches. So I put some mustard on and I put a few slices of cucumbers on my sandwich too for an extra fresh crunch. I’ll have a few on the side or some salt and vinegar chips as well.

There’s really not much to it. It’s also a really good meal to leave in the fridge throughout the week! If anyone has any other secret tips to making their egg salad please comment and share them! I’m always willing to try new things so I would love to hear what everyone else has been up to! Don’t forget to follow me on my Twitter, Instagram and Like my Facebook page! I hope you all enjoyed this post! Thank you, everyone!!!

15 thoughts on “Easy Peasy, Eggcellent, Egg Salad!

What did you think?

