Cleanse Prep

My Pre-Procedure Bowel Cleanse

Hellooo Everyonee!!! So this post is going to talk about what I had to do to prep for my Endoscopy and Colonoscopy, what I experienced, this time vs. The first time I had one, and the symptoms you experience while during the cleanse.

First off, some of you might be wondering what an Endoscopy & Colonoscopy are. Basically, all it is doctors insert tubes through your throat and colon. The tube has a camera which allows the doctors to soo wheat going on throughout my Esophagus, Colon, & Larger Intestine. Most times they take biopsies, but they are mainly used to aid in the diagnosis of internal illnesses. This will be my second Endoscopy/Colonoscopy. Since my first procedure, my life has changed ENTIRELY! I’ve moved out and live with my Boyfriend and I have grown a lot as a person as well. I live further from the hospital than I use to and I have lost a lot of the support in which I thought I had over this last year as well. That doesn’t get me down one bit, though. My life has changed so positively in this past year and I couldn’t be more thankful for the family I have gained.

Some of the environmental differences: I live with my boyfriend which means, this time, I wasn’t alone though my preparation. During the preparation for my last procedure, I was alone in my bedroom with the smell of freshly baked cookies that I couldn’t have. This time, since I have an apartment and a lot more responsibilities than last time I needed two days to get ready! The day before I started the preparation I did a good clean of our apartment, kitchen, living room, bedroom, BATHROOM! The floors… etc. I made sure all the dishes were washed as much as I could so that way my hubby had clean dishes to cook and eat with. I also made sure the bedroom was nice & tidy, and set up comfortably for the duration of prep and post procedure habitation for both myself and my lover ❤ (a heads up: you will see me refer to him as every nickname in the book because he is my everything ❤ )

In the bedroom…

We switched sides of the bed so that way I was closer to the door and could get to the bathroom quicker. This also meant that I was able to put up a folding table which I used to put my laptop, a notebook, a few pens, and my binder. This left my side table open for the assortment of drinks I would be having that night (water, apple juice, peach juice) whichever the choice of clear liquid I must drink 2 litres with each dosage of cleanser. I’m drinking apple juice, peach juice, water, I have also had some chicken broth which sucked because I absolutely hate broth. I also made sure the bathroom was clean and comfy since I knew I would be spending a lot of time in there. I made sure I had some Pampers wipes which have come in really handy, there very soothing on the tushie!

To be honest the first time I did the procedure I was terrible but bearable. I had to do it and I was alone in doing it as well. Being young and inexperienced I didn’t know as much about my body as I do now which has allowed me to be more observant of my body’s reactions. The symptoms you’re told you may experience are Vomiting, Diarrhea, Abdominal Pain, Abdominal Distension (swollen), Nausea, Anal Discomfort, and Proctalgia. You may also begin to experience Hyponatraemia ( low-level of sodium in the blood). This can be observed as tingling in the skin, numbness, spasms, or palpitations, muscle weakness, fatigue, tremors, rash, hives, and itching.

This time, I noticed my body experience the following: Diarrhea, Abdominal Pain & Distension, Nausea, and Anal Discomfort. Diarrhea is the most common side effect, after all, it is a cleanse of your digestive system. The Abdominal Pain and Distension were really bad this time. Since I have lost a lot of weight I bloated and swelled up a lot more and quicker. I was so Nauseous for the first little bit that I could even take a sip of anything. The second anything even just a liquid touched my TEETH I felt nauseous, I couldn’t even make it to my tongue. In the beginning, I noticed Tingling in my Skin, Numbness, Muscle Weakness and Fatigue.

It’s been a completely different experience so far and I am so lucky to have the people in my life that I do. Tomorrow morning we have arrangements with my Father-in-Law who has taken the entire day off work to help get mine to the hospital safe and comfy and home from the hospital as well! I will be doing check in posts that for sure but as for right now I am super tired and I want to get some shut-eye before I have to wake up for the second dosage! Thank you, everyone, for reading his post & night everyone! I’ll check back in when I get a chance stay tuned!!!

What did you think?

